Perseverance is Key

I went for an 80 kms trek through the Western Ghats last weekend.

I climbed misty mountains

DSC05706

Waded through rivers

WP_20151002_11_03_45_Pro

Crossed a waterfall

DCIM100GOPROG0011701.

Walked through tunnels of plants that bloom once in 8 years

12093764_1658530307702997_1638701527_n

Climbed down rocks in the darkness

DSC06002

Yes, I’m smiling in the picture, and that’s because I know I’m just a few hours away from a hot shower and a hot cup of coffee. That’s what pushed me through those 72 hours; the thought of a hot shower and a hot coffee.

I was drenched to the bone. I had to wear wet socks and wet shoes. My boxers were rubbing into my thighs, and my 50 litre backpack felt like it weighed a tonne.

So why did I go through all this? Well, I kept asking myself the same thing!

I know two kinds of people who go on treks – people who like nature, and people who want to prove something to themselves. I do it to push myself to the limits, to see how far I can push my endurance.

I make through with thoughts of getting home. I guess that’s all it takes to get through life too; the will to get to home no matter what the odds.

2 thoughts on “Perseverance is Key

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

