The Battle Within

As the echoes of battle filled my ear,

The sound of certain death I did not hear.

Nor did my mind falter in fear,

For I was fighting for all that is dear.

My son who’s eyes glowed with pride,

Gave me strength to take swift strides.

My wife who’s beauty no darkness could hide,

Helped me forget comrades who’d died.

I was trapped in this bloodshed

And all around me, I could see red.

But rest not I did till the enemy was dead,

And what few remained for fear of life had fled.

The sight of victory filled me with delight,

For I had brought an end to my homeland’s horrible plight.

My people could finally sleep at night,

And home I’d be by morning light.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

