Changing the world

I believe that my existence is pointless. Like Gandhi said, “Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.” Why is it important? Because it helps you live with the uselessness of life.

I believe that I am changing the world. I don’t work for Teach for India, so I am not working at the ‘grass root level’, educating the poor millions. I work at an IT publishing firm, publishing books that will help people in the IT industry enhance their skills. Now, I have been told that I am just flattering myself by saying that I am changing the world. I beg to differ. I help IT professionals pen down their experience and ideas; pass on their skills to budding IT professionals. 

My firm conducted an exercise to help everyone understand what we are trying to do. We called it the “Future of Technology”. Each team was given a technology. We tried to come up with what changes would happen in the next 2, 5, and 10 years. We then tried to figure out what people’s learning needs would be at these stages and how we would help them. That my friends, is a vision! Helping people adapt to the evolution of technology and teaching them how to work with it. That is how we change the world.

Now these might seem like first world problems; we are not trying to eradicate poverty (at least not directly). But these are problems that will plague the world soon; all of us will eventually live in the ‘first world’. Therefore, I believe that in small part, my existence is making a dent to the world.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

