The Crotch Blowout

To my horror, I realised that I was the victim of yet another crotch blowout this morning. This time it was a new pair of jeans that I had bought just last week. Now all my jeans had holes in the crotch. Great! Just great!

But I wasn’t going to let this ruin my day for “Under the bludgeonings of chance, My head is bloody, but unbowed.” So I went straight to the dry cleaners to give it for darning. And just as I got out of the dry cleaners’, it started raining. Now I was drenched to the bone, and mind you, I was wearing my only pair of dry clothes. The final nail in the coffin was when the cab driver ditched me as there was too much traffic. The Universe was officially screwing me over!

Have you noticed that one bad thing leads to a series of mishaps which just keep on coming? Guess what, that’s just bullshit! It is just you thinking that you are all important and the center of the Universe (which technically you are, but let’s leave that for another day). In reality, it is all in your head. When something shitty happens, you feel bad about it, you feel low and beaten. And in that negative state of mind, you notice all the negative things around you. And worse still, you don’t see the positives.

It is very important that you understand this, for it is the key to tackling the Crotch Blowout deceptions that your mind throws at you. My jeans tore because I wear them low. I got drenched because I walked out of the house in a hurry (upset about the crotch blowout) and hence, forgot to take an umbrella. And the cab, well shit hits the fan when it starts raining in Mumbai. So there was nothing really abnormal about today. It was just a normal day, with good and bad peppered all over.

This is true for life as a whole. You can sit and brood over how life has been unfair to you, or you can plug in your earphones, listen to Daniel Powter’s Bad Day, knowing that you have plenty going in your favour.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

